Necropolis Walking Tours

Glasgow Necropolis Walking Tours Programme and Events

Our walking tours are run by our extremely, well informed, volunteer tour guides. We do not ask for a specific fee for our walking tours but do ask if you can be generous as all our donations go towards the conservation and restoration of the Necropolis. If you prefer to take a walk round in your own time but would like a little help we have an easy to follow pocket guide to 60 of the most famous monuments see our Books page. Some of the proceeds of this sale goes to the Necropolis.

All our tours are free of charge, however, as a registered Scottish charity, all donations are hugely welcome to assist in our education and restoration work within the Glasgow Necropolis. Our current restoration project is that of the Monteath Mausoleum.

Find out more and make a donation at our Monteath Appeal page.

Walking Tour Programme 2018

These informal and informative tours of the Glasgow Necropolis will be undertaken, weather permitting, as per the dates noted below.   The tour guides assigned to each tour are also listed below. The assignations are subject to change.

The Saturday and Sunday tours last approximately two hours and are general walking tours.

The Friday Night Tour last an hour and features Glasgow’s most famous anatomists, artists, writers and inventors.

Prior booking is essential. To book a place on a tour, please visit the Booking a Tour section of this page.

 

November 2018

  • Saturday 24th November @ 12.00 noon – Tour Guide Sarah Morrison ***FULLY BOOKED***

December 2018

  • Saturday 8th December @ 1.00pm – Tour Guide Jannis Low***FULLY BOOKED***
  • Sunday 30th December @ 11.00am – Tour Guide Gavin & Joyce McNae ***FULLY BOOKED***

Prior booking is essential. To book a place on a tour, please visit the Booking a Tour section of this page.

Walking Tour Programme 2019

These informal and informative tours of the Glasgow Necropolis will be undertaken, weather permitting, as per the dates noted below.   The tour guides assigned to each tour are also listed below. The assignations are subject to change.

The Saturday and Sunday tours last approximately two hours and are general walking tours.

The Friday Twilight Tour last an hour and features Glasgow’s most famous anatomists, artists, writers and inventors.

Prior booking is essential. To book a place on a tour, please visit the Booking a Tour section of this page.

January 2019
• Saturday 5th January @ 12.00 noon – Tour Guide Scott Kerr
• Sunday 27th January @ 11.00am – Tour Guide Gavin & Joyce McNae

February 2019
• Saturday 2nd February @ 1.00pm – Tour Guide Duncan Sloan
• Friday 8th February @ 2.00pm – Tour Guide Ruth Johnston
• Saturday 23rd February @ 12.00 noon – Tour Guide Annette Mullen

March 2019

• Sunday 10th March @ 2.00pm – Tour Guide Nigel Willis
• Saturday 23rd March @ 1.00pm – Tour Guide Gavin & Joyce McNae
• Friday 29th March @ 5.00pm – Tour Guide Ruth Johnston

April 2019
• Sunday 7th April @ 12.00 noon – Tour Guide Annette Mullen
• Friday 12th April @ 6.00pm – Tour Guide Ruth Johnston
• Saturday 20th April @ 1.00pm – Tour Guide Jannis Low

May 2019
• Saturday 11th May @ 1.00pm – Tour Guide Scott Kerr
• Friday 24th May @ 6.00pm Tour – Guide Ruth Johnston
• Sunday 26th May @ 2.00pm – Tour Guide Duncan Sloan

June 2019
• Saturday 8th June @ 2.00pm – Tour Guide Nigel Willis
• Friday 14th June @ 6.00pm- Tour Guide Ruth Johnston
• Sunday 23rd June @ 1.00pm – Tour Guide Jannis Low

July 2019
• Saturday 6th July @ 2.00pm – Tour Guide Duncan Sloan
• Friday 12th July @ 6.00pm – Tour Guide Ruth Johnston
• Sunday 21st July @ 11.00am – Tour Guide Gavin & Joyce McNae

August 2019
• Friday 2nd August @ 6.00pm – Tour Guide Ruth Johnston
• Sunday 4th August @ 1.00pm – Tour Guide Nigel Willis
• Saturday 24th August @ 2.00pm & 5.00pm – Tour Guides Scott & Annette Mullen

September 2019
• Sunday 8th September @ 12.00 noon – Nigel Willis
• Friday 20th September @ 6.00pm – Tour Guide Ruth Johnston

October 2019
• Saturday 5th October @ 12.00 noon – Tour Guide Duncan Sloan
• Friday 18th October @ 2.00pm – Tour Guide Ruth Johnston
• Sunday 27th October @ 2.00pm – Tour Guide Jannis Low

November 2019
• Sunday 10th November @ 1.00pm – Tour Guide Scott Kerr & Annette Mullen***Remembrance Sunday tour focused on WW1 Roll of Honour***  
• Friday 15th November @ 2.00pm – Tour Guide Ruth Johnston
• Saturday 23rd November @ 12.00 noon – Tour Guide Sarah Morrison

December 2019
• Saturday 7th December @ 1.00pm – Tour Guide Jannis Low
• Sunday 29th December @ 11.00am – Tour Guide Gavin & Joyce McNae

Booking a Tour

Prior booking is essential, with members of The Friends of the Glasgow Necropolis having priority booking. All other places will be allocated on a first come basis and the meeting point will be provided with every confirmed booking.

Please contact tours@glasgownecropolis.org  with details of the tour that you wish to attend and the number of places that you wish to reserve.

Planning your Visit

The Glasgow Necropolis is located nearby Glasgow’s medieval Cathedral and is on the second highest hill in Glasgow. Allow approximately 2 hours for your visit as the cemetery covers 37 acres. If you have to rest please use some of the low walls to sit on. Please do not climb on the memorials, please keep to the paths and wear suitable clothing and footwear. There are no toilet facilities on the site – nearby St Mungo’s Museum has toilet facilities but please note it closes at 5pm.

Click here to find out more about the Location of the Necropolis and how to get there.

Bespoke Walking Tours

As well as our Walking Tour Programme we also undertake bespoke tours for schools, groups and organisations.  These tours can be tailored to suit your requirements. Please contact glasgownecropolistours@gmail.com for details.

 
 
Back to top
www.laanepenger.org . paydayloansintheusa.com . Partner: http://www.laanpengeonline.info/